Two Weeks In Links

I’ve had a very lazy week, gang. A big class finished, and for one reason or another most of my one on one students cancelled so I’ve found myself at loose ends… and what is it about having nothing to do that makes it so hard to do anything?

Anyway, let’s get down to it.

First off, since I was a wee small bairn I’ve had a deep distrust of  the concept of heros in general. I hated writing those “Who is Your Hero?” papers in school because I knew, somehow, I just knew deep down everyone was kind of a jerk and I also knew intuitively and later confirmed that no one comes up with ideas on their own. They just don’t. You just don’t. Thomas Edison always seemed a little too much of a muchness character to me, (and it turns out he had about as much creative input in his brand as Calvin Klein, which is to say almost none) and I want to weep a little every time I think about how we don’t have free electricity because a few people would prefer to make money from it. So Nikola Tesla, I salute you. And I’m sorry you died alone and crazy and thank you. And thank you Oatmeal for this wonderful tribute. Geeks of the world, pour one out tonight.

Palate cleanser: Whale beached in the forests of Argentina! Man I get jealous of people who think of and do these things.

I like dumb jokes a LOT, (holla Tim Hallam! All y’all check out the link for Connections right there on the right) but I like stupidly overly-intellectual quips almost as much. This fantasy re-shuffling of Europe made me snort coffee out my nose a few times. “Bordello.” Ha!

No one really talks about money, which is weird, right? I mean, no one ever talked to me about money. Mom just figured I’d figure it out because somehow she had. And I was taught to balance a checkbook in school, and someone told me not to spend more than a quarter of your income on rent, but that’s bout it. No one really talks about money. It’s rude to bring it up with your friends. (Refreshing exception implicit in ex-pat life. “So where do you teach? Cool. How much do they pay?”) Not possessing many marketable skills myself, I escaped the American Economic crisis by moving 5000 miles away. It’s a common story here. But pals of mine who’ve stayed in America are dealing with it by going back to school. Which is really fricking expensive. And they’re getting into debt. And no one’s talking about it. So I find this series of exchanges really refreshing.

Speaking of America- this breakdown of gay-friendliness by state was making the rounds earlier this week, and it’s worth a look. I mean, no brainer in a way, (the coasts are more progressive?! Wha-?!) but interesting to see it all laid out.

Also speaking of America, here are some pictures I got all misty about. Camden Yards will never be Memorial Stadium, (“Let’s knock down this memorial we built to never forget something!” -Baltimore) but that big building on the right is where I had my prom, and I spent many pleasant evenings bored out of my mind there.

And finally, here’s the world in high res. Thanks, Russia.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Two Weeks In Links

  1. Erin

    Hi,

    I was intrigued by the Oatmeal bio of Tesla. Apparently that site has gone viral. Here is a counterarguement…

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/alexknapp/2012/05/18/nikola-tesla-wasnt-god-and-thomas-edison-wasnt-the-devil/

  2. Hi,

    Great post and blog :) Could I get your email as I’m coming to Istanbul very soon and just have a few questions.

    Thanks,

    Maria

  3. Chad

    Hi Sarah,

    I just came across this blog and I love so many things about it. First of all, I’m from Baltimore (Rosedale…but living in Hampden). Last year I married a Turkish girl (from Kadiköy…well Karadeniz Eğreli, but she lived in Kadiköy for several years before coming here). Anyway, we’ve been talking about moving to either Istanbul or Izmir sometime in the next couple of years and I’m trying to come to terms with leaving Baltimore, although it may just be a temporary move.

    My wife interned at a clinical pharmacy in Karaköy, so it was nice to see her grueling journey to work documented by someone else. She also claims that your notes on Turkish culture are spot on. We’ll be there this summer and I’d be happy to bring you some comforts from home when we visit (old bay, resurrection/ozzy, berger’s cookies, etc).

Leave a Reply

