Kaç saat?!

It was a confusing morning anyway.
I have a sinus infection, and it took fifteen minutes of standing in a steamy shower before I could breathe through my nose. In typical Sarah Perrich fashion I left the house without my phone, so I wasn’t sure whether the 110 bus I boarded was the 8:20 or the 8:40, but I was not-unpleasantly stoned on sudafed, and didn’t mind one way or another whether I got to work at 8:55 or 9:15. I pulled out my book and didn’t look up again until the bus wheezed into the terminal and the engine shut off.
It was quiet when I arrived, so I thought it must be on the early side. I turned on the computer in the staff room and flipped through a text book while I waited for it to stretch and yawn and load Windows. And then I gasped in horror.
“10:06,” the computer insisted. “It’s 10:06 a.m.”
“Oh my God,” I squawked, “I’m late!” How much had I read on the bus? I thought frantically. Had we gotten stuck in traffic in Beşiktaş? Had it taken me an unimaginably long time to walk to the bus? My cottony brain had no solutions for the lost hour.
I ran to the clock in the hallway and looked at it uncomprehendingly. “9:07,” the clock said. I went back into the teacher’s lounge. “10:07,” the computer said. I ran up to my classroom. No students. Had they not come yet, or had they come and left? I ran downstairs. Fatma was the only person around so i grabbed her and showed her the time on the computer and asked, “kaç saat?”
At that moment a co-worker came in, breathless, and said, “Oh my GOD I forgot all about daylight savings time!”
Ah.
So that was one answer, but it didn’t solve the problem of what time it was.
“It’s ten,” my co-worker insisted.
“If it’s ten, why don’t I have any students, and why aren’t there any other teachers here?” I asked.
“Probably everyone else forgot about daylight savings time, too,” she said placidly.
I’ll save you the next ten minutes of utter confusion and cut to the moment Adem came in and explained everything:
Apparently it was supposed to be daylight savings time, but because it was a big exam day in Istanbul, they put it off until tomorrow.
Whether that’s an elegant solution or sheer lunacy I’ll decide when the cold medicine wears off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life, Turkish Culture

Leave a Reply

